Minutes of the 2016 Fiscal Year Annual Meeting August 14, 2017 151 Lagoon Pond Road, Vineyard Haven

Board Chairman Stever Aubrey called to order the 95th annual meeting of the Martha's Vineyard Museum at 5:05 pm on Monday, August 14, 2017 at the former Marine Hospital and future site of the Martha's Vineyard Museum in Vineyard Haven. Present were over 100 members and friends of the Museum together with board, staff, and interns. Aubrey opened by presenting the 2016 Annual Meeting minutes which were approved in a unanimous vote.

Aubrey welcomed the audience and announced the Martha's Vineyard Museum had raised \$3.1 million in cash and pledges in 2016, putting the capital campaign at a current total of \$15 million dollars raised. Including the funds from the future agreement to sell the Pease House property in Edgartown, the total raised is approaching \$20 million dollars. With the bright financial outlook, the Museum moved forward with detailed architectural planning in 2016. A contractor has been selected, and after minimal delays, demolition is underway with construction to start in early October.

Aubrey emphasized that the project has been transformative, with this being the most pivotal moment in the history of the Museum. It is defining its future as a renowned cultural center, with 2016 bringing new vision, new leadership, a new logo, new marketing, and a new mission statement:

"The Martha's Vineyard Museum inspires all people to discover, explore, and strengthen their connections to this Island and its diverse heritage."

Aubrey asked for everyone to keep working together in order to ensure our success, and thanked the crowd for their help thus far.

Aubrey introduced Executive Director Phil Wallis who began by discussing access for all at the new Museum. He cited a focus on having a low admission price point, language accessibility (including sign language), and telling stories from all six towns and many diverse heritages. He stated Education Director Ann DuCharme has worked hard to make education a part of our business model with two thirds of the children on Island touched by Museum curriculum multiple times every year.

Treasurer Dale Garth was introduced to give the financial report. In 2016, the Museum took a number of important financial steps to help with strategic plans. The operations fund yielded strong growth as planned. The campaign fund had significant expenses from marketing and PR

as the campaign shifted into a public phase. Garth reported having a rare surplus of \$14,000 for the year.

The Museum raised 3.1 million dollars in cash and pledges in 2016 for a total of \$15 million dollars. With the agreement to sell a portion of the Edgartown property, we are at almost \$20 million dollars.

Garth reported the Museum has secured a \$6 million dollar line of credit for a five year term available, although it is not needed right now, for construction expenses. The National Endowment for the Humanities challenge grant is up to \$1.4 million by mid-2017, and is currently in a portfolio managed by Vanguard. Garth reported that the desired goal for the Museum is to have financial sustainability, which will happen by increasing operations revenue. Relocation is an important part of this business model.

Aubrey introduced Marcia Cini, chair of the governance committee, who thanked her fellow committee members: Bob Blacklow, Stever Aubrey, Chris Morse, Barbara Alleyne, and David Lebreton (the chairman replacing Cini). She also thanked outgoing Board members Jamie Curtis, Jim Richardson, Betsey Weinstock, and herself for unfailing dedication to the cause. Cini listed the individuals who were up for election for their second three-year term: Elizabeth Beim, Julie Flanders, and Chris Murphy. All were approved in a unanimous vote.

Cini called for a vote on the following individuals up for election for their first three-year term: Nat Benjamin, Jeb Blatt, David Foster, John McDonald, Phil Regan, Juliana Rogers, and Cathy Weiss. All were approved unanimously.

Wallis ended the business portion of the annual meeting, and announced the recipients of the 2017 Martha's Vineyard Medal, which was created to honor leaders in the community who have demonstrated a strong commitment to preserving the history, arts, and culture of Martha's Vineyard. The recipients for 2017 were:

- Kate Hancock presented by Ann Smith
- James B. Richardson, III presented by Bonnie Stacy
- Catherine "Kay" Mayhew presented by Anna Carringer

In a unanimous movement to adjourn, the meeting adjourned at 6:08 pm.