151 Lagoon Pond Road, Vineyard Haven MA 02568 - 508.627.4441
Martha's Vineyard Museum MV Museum

Since 1923 the Martha’s Vineyard Museum has been the “safety deposit box” for the images, stories, objects and voices of Martha’s Vineyard. The stories we tell are thorough and vivid because our collection is acquired from people who relish their connection to the Vineyard and trust we will preserve it for generations. The culture and lifestyle on the Vineyard is unlike most communities due to the natural beauty, commitment to preservation, and historical richness.

As the premier storyteller of the history, arts, and culture of Martha’s Vineyard, the Martha’s Vineyard Museum introduced the Martha’s Vineyard Medal in 2009. The Medal is awarded annually to leaders in the community to recognize their outstanding commitment to preserving the history, arts, and culture of Martha’s Vineyard. 

Criteria for the Medal includes demonstrated leadership on Martha’s Vineyard in one or more of the following areas:

  • Historic preservation
  • Fine and performing arts
  • Literature
  • Community activism
  • Education


Past Winners:

2018 Recipients:
Ann Smith
Rose Styron
Denys Wortman

2017 Recipients:
Kate Hancock
James B. Richardson, III
S. Christopher Scott

2016 Recipients:
Len Butler
Robert S. Douglas
Catherine (Kay) Mayhew

2015 Recipients:
Pat Gregory
Patricia Morgan
Cynthia Riggs

2014 Recipients:
Renee Balter
Dorothy Bangs
Richard Paradise

2013 Recipients:
Sheldon Hackney
Olga Hirshhorn
Murphy Family (Stan, Polly, Chris, and Barbara)

2012 Recipients:
Athearn Family
Geraldine Brooks
Tony Horwitz
Hugh Knipmeyer

2011 Recipients:
Marian Halperin
Francine Kelley
S. Bailey Norton, Jr.

2010 Recipients:
David McCullough
Arthur R. Railton
Tobias Jonathan Vanderhoop

2009 Recipients:
Ray Ellis
Tom Hale
Della Hardman
John Walter